1
Back

QUéBEC/CANADA | 37 minutes | 2011

The Berlin – The Passage of Time video installation is shown on four HD flat screens positioned horizontally one beside the other. Four video clips of different lengths (between seven and twelve minutes) are looped on those screens. Since the loops are of different lengths, they are constantly lagging one in relation to the others so that the viewer is facing ever changing combinations of the different segments of images and sounds.

Each of the segments is based on shooting done in Berlin in July 2012, august 2013 and October 2013. All those shootings have to do with scenes of daily life, but in the same time, they also refer to different episodes of the recent history of the city of Berlin, from the Weimar Republic to the Second World War, the monumental buildings of the DDR, the 1949 blockade and airlift, the Wall and so on to the current rebuilding of the city center. Some segments (images shot from the S-Bahn, the parade of the tourists boats on the Spree, the constant traffic of bicycles) have a function of transitions and constitute leitmotivs that are present in all four screens.

There are two segments devoted to two major intellectual figures related to Berlin, that are dear to me, Bertolt Brecht and Walter Benjamin, two characters that had crossed over destinies during WW II. Overall the piece is particularly inspired by different benjaminian themes, like the image of the «flanneur», a special understanding of history and of the relationship between present and pass, the notions of dialectic images and allegory.

Each shot is first submitted to digital processing in order to achieve a greater density of the material. Eventually, meshes of animated lines are added. The objective is, while keeping a strong connection with the initial raw live material, to modify the viewer’s perception, to allegorize those fragments of daily life, and to create a sort of historical vertigo. At another more formal level, there is a construction of moments of intensity that creates at the level of the four screens a composition of dynamic chocks constantly reenacted by the lag between the four different loops. This is superposed to the equally shifting thematic connections between what is seen on the different screens. This combinatory and expanded editing on multiple levels invites the viewer to position himself alternately in the overall contemplation of the changes in the global installation, and in the concentrated observation of specific fragments while moving from one screen to the other.

The longest loop is 13 minutes, so the complete set of images of the piece can be seen in that length of time. But, because of the combinatory manner in which it is constructed, it is possible to stay in hypnotic contemplation much longer in front of the installation.

Programs

Wednesday October 10, 2018

Program #172
19:15
Cinémathèque - Salle Fernand-Seguin

As part of LIEUX ET MONUMENTS DE PIERRE HÉBERT

Pierre Hébert

No biography

recommended movies

PRÉSENTATIONS SPÉCIALES

LANCEMENT 2018 WAPIKONI MOBILE

The Indigenous Youths views are honored again this year. Join us in this creative gathering and get a sneak peek of the cultures and talent of young...

37 minutes | 0

PRÉSENTATIONS SPÉCIALES

ROULEZ JEUNESSE

O.V. French | st English

After Problemos, his roles with Quentin Dupieux, and his series, Platane, Eric Judor has more surprises up his sleeve. Here, he plays a cranky, immature...

FRANCE | 37 minutes | 2018

PRÉSENTATIONS SPÉCIALES

Off Ground

O.V. - Without dialogue

A light grey room. A slender woman of 50 and a 12-year-old boy. Joined together like the links of a chain. Changing positions at a constant rate. One...

NETHERLANDS | 37 minutes | 2013

x Close

Our newsletter

Stay connected

Sign-up for our newsletter to get all the latest Festival news!

Please fill this field Invalid first name
Please fill this field Invalid last name
Please fill this field Invalid email
Send You'll receive an email soon to confirm your subscription to our newsletter You are already subscribed to the newsletter

To learn more about our privacy policy, click here

1
Retour

QUéBEC/CANADA | 37 minutes | 2011

L’installation vidéo «Berlin – Le Passage du temps» se déploie sur quatre écrans plats HD placés horizontalement l’un à côté de l’autre. Quatre bandes vidéo de longueurs différentes (entre sept et douze minutes) jouent en boucle sur ces écrans. Conséquemment, ces boucles sont en constant décalage les unes par rapport aux autres de sorte que le spectateur a devant lui une mise en relation toujours renouvelée de différents fragments d’images et de sons.

Les segments dont ces boucles sont composées viennent de tournages réalisés dans divers lieux berlinois, en juillet 2012, en aout 2013 et en octobre 2013. Ces tournages sont très ancrés dans le présent de la vie quotidienne de la ville mais simultanément, ils font référence de diverses façons à des épisodes de l’histoire récente de la ville de Berlin, allant de Weimar à la deuxième guerre mondiale, à la reconstruction actuelle du centre de la ville, en passant par le «mur», le blocus et le pont aérien de 1948/49, et les édifices monumentaux de la DDR. Certains segments (images prises du S-Bahn, la ronde des bateaux de touristes sur la Spree, le trafic des bicyclettes) ont un rôle de transitions et de leitmotivs qui traversent toutes les bandes.

Deux segments sont consacrés à des personnalités intellectuelles berlinoises qui me sont chères, Bertolt Brecht et Walter Benjamin qui ont eu un destin croisé d’exilés pendant la Seconde guerre mondiale. L’installation est particulièrement marquée par différents thèmes benjaminiens comme l’image du flâneur, une conception singulière de l’histoire et des liens qui peuvent unir le présent au passé, les notions d’image dialectique et d’allégorie.

Chaque bloc de tournage a d’abord fait l’objet de manipulations numériques de sorte à donner une plus grande densité au matériau. Ensuite, un réseau de surlignage animé a été ajouté de sorte à agir sur le regard du spectateur et à induire une sorte de vertige historique. Les fragments de vie quotidienne sont allégorisés tout en conservant leur réalité brute originaire. À un autre niveau, plus formel, les différents segments sont marqués, de diverses façons, de moments d’intensité qui, grâce aux décalages entre les boucles, vont créer, à l’échelle des quatre écrans, une composition de chocs dynamiques constamment reconstituée qui se superpose au réseau des connexions thématiques. Cette construction en montage combinatoire à plusieurs niveaux invite le spectateur à se positionner alternativement dans une contemplation d’ensemble du déroulement ou dans l’observation concentrée de chacun des fragments, en circulant d’un écran à l’autre.

La boucle la plus longue étant d’une durée de 12:30 minutes, l’ensemble des images qui composent la pièce peuvent être vues une première fois dans ce lap de temps. Cependant, à cause de la construction combinatoire, il est possible de rester dans un état de fascination hypnotique devant l’installation pour une période beaucoup plus longue.

Séances

mercredi 10 octobre 2018

Séance #172
19:15
Cinémathèque - Salle Fernand-Seguin

Dans le cadre de LIEUX ET MONUMENTS DE PIERRE HÉBERT

Pierre Hébert

Aucune biographie

films recommandés

PRÉSENTATIONS SPÉCIALES

LANCEMENT 2018 WAPIKONI MOBILE

Cette année encore, les regards de la jeunesse autochtone seront à l’honneur. Soyez de la rencontre et découvrez en primeur les cultures et les...

37 minutes | 0

PRÉSENTATIONS SPÉCIALES

ROULEZ JEUNESSE

V.O. Française | st Anglais

Après Problemos, ses rôles chez Quentin Dupieux et sa série Platane, Éric Judor crée encore la surprise. Ici, il est un dépanneur automobile...

FRANCE | 37 minutes | 2018

PRÉSENTATIONS SPÉCIALES

AD VITAM

V.O. Française

Alors qu’on pense avoir vaincu la mort sont découverts les corps de sept suicidés, tous mineurs. Dérive sectaire, acte politique, cri d’alarme...

FRANCE | 37 minutes | 2018

x Fermer

Notre Infolettre

Restez connecté

Inscrivez-vous à notre infolettre pour suivre toute notre actualité et ne rien manquer du Festival à l'année longue !

Veuillez renseigner ce champ Prénom invalide
Veuillez renseigner ce champ Nom invalide
Veuillez renseigner ce champ Adresse courriel invalide
Envoyer Vous recevrez un courriel dans quelques minutes afin de confirmer votre inscription à l'infolettre Vous êtes déjà inscrit à notre infolettre

Pour en savoir plus sur notre politique de confidentialité, cliquez ici